Apple and almond butter sandwich

DSC_4547

So admittedly if you look for portability, convenience and minimal mess in your mid afternoon pick me up then this probably isn’t the snack for you. However if you are after healthiness, creativity, beauty and downright bloody deliciousness then this apple sandwich will be right up your street!

I am obsessed with the combination of crunchy apple slices and smooth almond butter at the moment, I could literally eat that stuff all day. So this sandwich is my attempt to change it up a bit from my normal slicing and dipping routine.  I eat it as a snack but also alongside my green smoothie at breakfast time or even as a dessert with a difference.

A lot of people are afraid of nuts in fear of their high calorie and fat content. But nuts are actually full of heart healthy unsaturated fats like omega 3 as well as loads of important antioxidants and vitamins. Plus, the huge amounts of plant protein that they contain leave your hunger sated and decrease snacking and cravings, making them a dieters best friend!

JolBW DSC_4566

Due to the faaaairly faffy assembly of the sandwich I like to keep the components quite simple: apple, almond butter and goji berries. However there is a whole myriad of different combinations and ingredients which would work in this, additionally there are loads of different spreads you could use. I’ve used almond butter because I have a pesky peanuts allergy, but I’m sure peanut butter would work just as well. I’ve made an optional list of my own ideas underneath the ingredients list for you.

These sandwiches are so easy to put together and they look so beautiful. They’d be great presented together on a platter next time you’ve got friends over, or as part of a healthy breakfast buffet.

DSC_4537 vHzLd

Ingredients

  • 1 apple
  • 2/3 tablespoons almond butter
  • goji berries
  1. Slice the apple into three (depending on the size of the apple you could do four) horizontal slices
  2. Spread a thick layer of almond butter or other spread of your choice on two of the slices
  3. Top with goji berries or other toppings
  4. Sandwich together
  5. Enjoy!

Optional add-ins

  • oats
  • tahini
  • other nut butters
  • dried coconut
  • raisins
  • date caramel 
  • honey
  • banana slices
  • dried fruit
  • whole nuts
  • seeds
  • cacao nibs
  • cinnamon
  • pomegranate seeds